Community Development Block Grant

The ICDBG Program provides eligible grantees with direct grants for use in developing viable Indian and Alaska Native Communities, including decent housing, a suitable living environment, and economic opportunities, primarily for low and moderate income persons. Projects funding by the ICDBG program must principally benefit low-and-moderate-income persons (24 CFR 1003.208). The program regulations provide for two categories of grants, Single Purpose and Imminent Threat:

Single-Purpose Grants
Single purpose grants are awarded on a competition basis pursuant to the terms published in an annual Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO).

Who is eligible?
Eligible applicants for assistance include any Indian tribe, band, group, or nation(including Alaska Indians, Aleut, and Eskimos) or Alaska Native village which has established a relationship to the Federal government as defined in the program regulations. In certain instances, tribal organizations may be eligible to apply.

The ICDBG program can provide funding for recipients in the following categories:

  • Housing
    Housing rehabilitation, land acquisition to support new housing construction, and under limited circumstances, new housing construction.
  • Community Facilities
    Infrastructure construction, e.g., roads, water and sewer facilities; and, single or multipurpose community buildings.
  • Economic Development
    Wide variety of commercial, industrial, agricultural projects which may be recipient owned and operated or which may be owned and/or operated by a third party.

Housing Improvement Program

he Housing Improvement Program (HIP) is a federally funded program by P. L. 93-638 contracts. The program is to improve the living standards by providing decent, safe and sanitary homes within the territorial boundaries of the Navajo Nation. HIP provides housing assistance through home repairs, renovations, replacement of existing house or new construction to assist very-low income families and/or individual(s) living in substandard housing and have no other resources for housing assistance. The four factors use for eligibility requirements is outlined in 25 Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.) Part 256. The four factors are: Annual Household Income, Age persons, Disability Individual and Dependent children. The applicants must submit a complete housing application and all required documents to HIP Agency Office before ending date. All applications received are reviewed and screened to determine eligibility for housing assistance.